Newbie question

Started by mmutoo, March 02, 2012, 16:46:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mmutoo

Hi all, and thanks Elmar for the great job you have done with plop!
I am new to the world of linux, and it is for a few days that I am trying to learn about multiboot process and find a good boot manager. Honestly, grub is too complicated for me now. May be in the future :)
Anyways, here is the question (all this story is going on a Virtual Machine BTW):

1) Does plop supports booting from OS's installed on logical partitions? If yes, how many? Since I saw Elmar said on a post that it is possible just for the first logical partition (by OS I mean Linux). I do not remember if he said it is grub problem or plop!

2) I have a 10 GB HDD. I have partitioned it as follows: hda1 (Primary), hda2 (Primary), hda3 (extended), hda5 (logical, inside hda3). Then I installed Bodhi Linux 1.3 on hda5 (boot loader on hda5 also). Plop comes up on boot. I setup a profile for bodhi. In linked partitions list, there are 16 rows. I chose the 3rd (which should be HDA3). Then set it as boot, and used L1 as the logical partition for it. After all, when I try to boot it, I see an error says no valid boot sector. Am I missing something?

3) Could you please direct me to a good tutorial for setting the liked partitions section? I do not get the logic behind it. Why I can choose HDA1 in the second row which should be associated with HDA2 for example?

Many thanks.

Elmar

hi,

Quote from: mmutoo on March 02, 2012, 16:46:06 PM
1) Does plop supports booting from OS's installed on logical partitions? If yes, how many? Since I saw Elmar said on a post that it is possible just for the first logical partition (by OS I mean Linux). I do not remember if he said it is grub problem or plop!

yes, up to 4
but cascaded logical partitions a not supported. for example parted/gparted are creating cascaded logical partitions. in this case you can use only the first logical partition (L1)