Author Topic: himem.sys ERROR: Unable to control A20 line!  (Read 5897 times)

krs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
himem.sys ERROR: Unable to control A20 line!
« on: June 24, 2010, 23:30:28 PM »
split from topic Feature Requests

I've found a workaround for my himem.sys issue. If I load the plop iso with Isoemu dos seems to work pretty well and is effectively as easy as loading it straight from the windows boot menu. Plus, to update to a new version of plop just overwrite the iso file with the new one.
« Last Edit: July 01, 2010, 13:00:19 PM by Elmar »

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2481
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: himem.sys ERROR: Unable to control A20 line!
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2010, 13:01:41 PM »
hi,
i had luck and found an old laptop with the same issue. i think i fixed it.
please test this http://download.plop.at/tmp/plpbt.bin

regards
elmar

krs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: himem.sys ERROR: Unable to control A20 line!
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2010, 21:13:35 PM »
Yep, that's another issue resolved.
Cheers.

qiet72

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: himem.sys ERROR: Unable to control A20 line!
« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2021, 19:51:26 PM »
Hi,

I know this topic is old but I am seeing the same error in the latest version of plopt (5.0.15).  Have tried floppy > plpbt.bin > usb drive > dos 6.2.2.
If I look back in history in the changelogs, it looks like was fixed in 5.0.11 but that version is not available anymore for testing.

It is possible to repost 5.0.11 for testing?

qiet72

qiet72

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: himem.sys ERROR: Unable to control A20 line!
« Reply #4 on: October 27, 2021, 10:07:01 AM »
Did some more testing. The himem.sys error occurs when booting on a Thinkpad T60p.
When testing under Qemu - the error is does not come up.

Maybe Plop has problems releasing control of the A20 line before booting the OS on Thinkpads??

Qiet72