Hi
I'm trying, as you may have guessed, to install plop to the MBR via windows 7. I have the latest version of plop and have extracted it but when I run InstallToMBR.bat (as Admin) I get the response "Error: plpinstc.bin not found!" however I can verify that that file, as well as every other file specified by InstalltoMBR, is present in the same directory as the .bat file.
Anyone got any ideas on what is wrong?
hi,
plpinstc.bin is really in the same directory like InstallToMBR.bat? this message comes only when the batch command "exist" does not find the file.
in the worst case, you can run plpbt4win directly. either with parameters or you use the buitlin command line
Yeah, it's there all right. However when I run InstallToMBR with out clicking 'Run as Admin' it can find the .bin file and tells me C:\plop already exists but it 'can't write to the drive' (which is probably because it doesn't have admin rights.
how was c:\plop created?
I have the same problem (windows 7 - same messages as described by thebandroid). plpinstc.bin is in the same directory like InstallToMBR.bat.
Also using plpbt4win does not work (after the command "c c:\plop\plpbtwin.ldr" it says "Failed to open file: c:\plop\plpbt.bin").
c:\Plop was created by running InstallToMBR.bat not as admin (when running as admin it says "Error: plpinstc.bin not found!" - see description of ).
What can I do?
Quote from: carnivore on September 11, 2011, 13:56:41 PM
I have the same problem (windows 7 - same messages as described by thebandroid). plpinstc.bin is in the same directory like InstallToMBR.bat.
Also using plpbt4win does not work (after the command "c c:\plop\plpbtwin.ldr" it says "Failed to open file: c:\plop\plpbt.bin").
c:\Plop was created by running InstallToMBR.bat not as admin (when running as admin it says "Error: plpinstc.bin not found!" - see description of ).
What can I do?
before i ask more, do you have any unusual windows installation?
It is a Vaio Netbook and it was a "normal" installation with vaio recovery, which is on a "hidden" recovery partition...
use the plpbt4win built-in command line. activate the debug mode with "d" and run the "c" command. post the output
That's the result:
"Command (? for help): d
Debug mode is on
Command (? for help): c c:\plop\plpbt4win.ldr
Checking C:\Windows\System32\compact.exe
uncompressing c:\plop\plpbt.bin
c:\plop\: Das System kann die angegebene Datei nicht finden.
xxx 34 c:\plop\plpbt.bin
Clusters for file: c:\plop\plpbt.bin
Failed to open file: c:\plop\plpbt.bin
Command (? for help):"
you have to set the bin file to plpinstc.bin fore you run "c"
may be more convenient install PLoP with grub. grub MBR allow boot grub from any partiton including logical. if your window crash plop still bootable
I have set the bin file to plpinstc.bin fore running "c" - the installation was successful now, everything works fine...
Thank you so much for the fast and great support!!! ;D
is the InstallToMBR batch file now working? if not, then add the parameter /D in the batch file at the bottom call of plpbt4win and post the debug output
The boot manager works perfectly now when booting the netbook. Thank you very much...!!!
Quote from: carnivore on September 11, 2011, 20:49:56 PM
The boot manager works perfectly now when booting the netbook. Thank you very much...!!!
but i want to fix the plpbt4win bug, so please try the test
The InstallToMBR batch file is still not working
("Error: plpinstc.bin not found").
How to add the parameter /D in the batch file at the bottom call of plpbt4win?
What should be the concrete command in plpbt4win to get the debug output you mean?
%PGM% /B /C "%LDR%" /A "%ENTRYNAME%" /BIN "%PLOPDIR%\%BIN%" /D
Sorry, I am not that familia with this - do I have to run plpbt4win and type the whole command ("Input Error") or where should I add or whatever it?
you only have to edit installtombr.bat (right click at the file and edit) and add the /D at the end of the line (number 70) like my post above
When I start the edited file installtombr.bat as admin it still says "Error: plpinstc.bin not found!"...
no debug infos?
The edited file looks like this:
"@echo off
rem Written by Elmar Hanlhofer http://www.plop.at 20110731
echo Plop Boot Manager plpbt4win - Written by Elmar Hanlhofer www.plop.at
echo Tool to add/install the plop boot manager to the windows boot menu
echo."
set DRIVE=C
set PLOPDIR=%DRIVE%:\plop
set BIN=plpinstc.bin
set BIN1=%BIN%
set LDR=%PLOPDIR%\plpbt4winmbr.ldr
set PGM=plpbt4win.exe
set ENTRYNAME=Install the Plop Boot Manager to the MBR
rem ========================================================
if exist "%BIN%" goto binfound
set BIN=..\%BIN%
if exist "%BIN%" goto binfound
echo Error: %BIN1% not found!
goto exit
:binfound
rem ========================================================
if exist "%PGM%" goto pgmfound
echo Error: %PGM% not found!
goto exit
:pgmfound
rem ========================================================
if not exist "%PLOPDIR%" goto createplopdir
echo %PLOPDIR% already exist, update the files?
set /p Choice={y,n}
if '%Choice%'=='y' goto createcheckdir
goto exit
:createplopdir
mkdir "%PLOPDIR%" 2>nul
if not "%errorlevel%" == "0" goto noadmin
:createcheckdir
mkdir "%PLOPDIR%\test556832w1" 2>nul
if not "%errorlevel%" == "0" goto noadmin
rmdir "%PLOPDIR%\test556832w1"
rem ========================================================
echo Copy %BIN% to %PLOPDIR%
copy %BIN% %PLOPDIR%\%BIN%
echo Copy %PGM% to %PLOPDIR%
copy %PGM% %PLOPDIR%\%PGM%
echo.
echo Creating boot menu entry
%DRIVE%:
cd %PLOPDIR%
%PGM% /B /C "%LDR%" /A "%ENTRYNAME%" /BIN "%PLOPDIR%\%BIN%" /D
if "%errorlevel%" == "0" goto noerror
echo.
echo There was an error
goto exit
:noerror
echo.
echo Install completed
goto exit
rem ========================================================
:noadmin
echo.
echo Error: you have no admin rights! Use right mouse click on the program and
echo start it with admin privileges.
echo.
:exit
echo.
pause"
After starting as admin I only get the above posted message.
i remember, i come to the same conclusion like in a post above. somehow the "exist" batch command does not work.
i hope plpinstc.bin is in the same directory like installtombr.bat, or?
EDIT: remove the 2 " in the line with if exist "%BIN%" goto binfound
Yes, it is ("Windows").
remove the 2 " in the line with if exist "%BIN%" goto binfound
There is no 2 in that line (see post above)...
Quote from: carnivore on September 13, 2011, 06:58:33 AM
There is no 2 in that line (see post above)...
i copied from the post above. the line under the rem ====================
It still says "Error: plpinstc.bin not found!"...
Hello,
... I have exactly the same problems as describted in treat "Installing to Harddisk using the windows boot menu, plpinstc.bin not found"
(Version 5.0.13)
until item #8 are exactly the same messages
what do you mean in item #9? What is "c" ?? I could not understand this handling.
A copy in item #22 (as "InstallToMBR.bat") won't have effects.
The describted "2" in Item #25 - #27 doesn't exist.
Afterthats i tried to control the script directly with a "goto binfound" (without the exist questionare). I will finished also by errors.
Plop Boot Manager plpbt4win - Written by Elmar Hanlhofer www.plop.at
Tool to add/install the plop boot manager to the windows boot menu
"
C:\plop already exist, update the files?
{y,n}y
Copy plpinstc.bin to C:\plop
1 Datei(en) kopiert.
Copy plpbt4win.exe to C:\plop
1 Datei(en) kopiert.
Creating boot menu entry
Tempdir C:\Users\RENEML~1\AppData\Local\Temp
Checking C:\Windows\System32\bcdedit.exe
boot.ini: 0
bcdedit: 1
Checking C:\Windows\System32\compact.exe
uncompressing C:\plop\plpinstc.bin
xxx 2 C:\plop\plpinstc.bin
Clusters for file: C:\plop\plpinstc.bin
VCN: 0 LCN: 2098506 LEN: 10
Error: unable to open drive
There was an error
Drücken Sie eine beliebige Taste . . .
What can I do?
How is the right handling for a good and safety installation?
Do you have now a well running version?
Quote from: flyhai on September 14, 2011, 13:10:05 PM
The describted "2" in Item #25 - #27 doesn't exist.
its not "2" its 2 ". i was meaning the two " chars
however, the two " are not the problem
meanwhile i think the problem is how some users are starting InstallToMBR.bat. are all of you sure, that you uncompressed the zip file and then you started InstallToMBR.bat from the uncompressed folder? when you start InstallToMBR.bat from inside of the zip file (windows can make it look like a standard folder) then plpinstc.bin cannot be found! maybe i am wrong, but the starting from inside the zip is currently the only explanation that makes sense.
EDIT: what about InstallToBootMenu.bat? does this work or not? i am wondering that no one wants try the boot manager before he install it to the mbr.
regards
elmar
Yes of course all files are uncompressed. And also started as admin. (Windows vista system)
in one example I copied it also to drive c and started it inside c:\plpbt\Windows\
The script "InstallToBootMenu.bat" delivers also erros:
Version started as admin:
Plop Boot Manager plpbt4win - Written by Elmar Hanlhofer www.plop.at
Tool to add/install the plop boot manager to the windows boot menu
Error: plpbt.bin not found!
Drücken Sie eine beliebige Taste . . .
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Version started NOT as admin
Plop Boot Manager plpbt4win - Written by Elmar Hanlhofer www.plop.at
Tool to add/install the plop boot manager to the windows boot menu
C:\plop already exist, update the files?
{y,n}y
Copy plpbt.bin to C:\plop
1 Datei(en) kopiert.
Copy plpbt4win.exe to C:\plop
1 Datei(en) kopiert.
Creating boot menu entry
Error: unable to open drive
There was an error
Drücken Sie eine beliebige Taste . . .
------------------------------------------
Here you can see the path and the stored files.
C:\>cd plpbt\windows
C:\plpbt\Windows>dir
Datenträger in Laufwerk C: ist LW_C - PRG
Volumeseriennummer: 101A-EFFE
Verzeichnis von C:\plpbt\Windows
13.09.2011 13:24 <DIR> .
13.09.2011 13:24 <DIR> ..
14.08.2011 15:51 294 1README.html
14.08.2011 11:33 1.906 InstallToBootMenu.bat
14.08.2011 11:33 1.935 InstallToMBR.bat
13.09.2011 12:17 1.943 InstallToMBR1.bat
13.09.2011 13:24 1.956 InstallToMBR2.bat
13.09.2011 10:16 43.319 plpbt.bin
14.08.2011 11:39 54.826 plpbt4win.exe
14.08.2011 14:53 43.207 plpbtrom.bin
14.08.2011 20:24 39.275 plpbtrom.exe
17.04.2011 15:52 36.308 plpcfgbt.exe
30.07.2011 13:12 32.768 plpcfgbtGUI.exe
14.08.2011 14:53 39.650 plpinstc.bin
12 Datei(en), 297.387 Bytes
2 Verzeichnis(se), 180.017.451.008 Bytes frei
C:\plpbt\Windows>
The requested files are available. It seems that the system doesn't found it!
Any crypt drives doesn't exist on the HD
ok, thats a good info
add the line
echo %CD%
at the top of InstallToBootMenu.bat in c:\plop\windows. whats the first few output lines when you start it as admin
I found another context. If you start the programms from a explorer (also starting by admin)
you get the troubles ....
If you start the cmd with admin rights and inside the cmd you started the programms manually => then it seems to work. The boot manager will be installed.
By restarting the system the bootmanager rises at first. In the first look it's now fine.
But I have the next trouble with the BM.
Now it may be the wrong forums item.
I have one physical HD with 2 primary and 1 extended partitions. all formated as NTFS. Inside the extended there are 2 logical drives.
On both primaries are a independend operating system (windows vista business)
Now I select "setup"
=> in the partitions I found 3 (hda1, hda2, hda3) (=> 2 active, 1 extended) => OK
=> in profiles I use the entry "os harddisk 1"
=> in linked partitions I enter at "HDA" two of the partitions (the both primary partitions with the OS)
=> finished. now I start the profile and want select between this 2 OS
=> by opening the profile 3 itema are available
"MS Windows Vista"
"Plop Boot Manager"
"Install the Plop Boot Manager to the MBR"
by selecting #1 => the standart windows starts
by selecting #2 => anything rises but it could not be shown. extremeyl distorted screen.
the second windows option are not present.
If I change inside the setup => profiles => linked partition the "set boot partition" to the other OS and I restart it, the 2. OS will start. But also without a selecting between the 2 OS
What happened?
How is the right way to configure the settings?
Maybe please give me the right forums item
Thanks in advance
Quote from: Elmar on September 14, 2011, 13:53:58 PM
add the line
echo %CD%
at the top of InstallToBootMenu.bat in c:\plop\windows. whats the first few output lines when you start it as admin
its always the same, people want a solution, i ask something and i get no answer to my question.
however, i did some tests and i was able to reproduce and fix the problem within a few minutes. when do i release it? i don't know. maybe today.