Dual boot XP from cloned copy

Started by freddie, February 01, 2011, 17:49:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

freddie

Hi,

I have watched the video for two istances of XP in a dual boot situation but it is different from the setup I want. I have three primary partitions on my first hard drive. On partition 1 (the C drive) I have installed XP and all the standard software I want such as antivirus, firefox, pdf reader etc. I have then cloned that installation with Clonezilla and restored it to partition 2 (the D drive). Partition 3 (the E drive) is to be a data partition shared by the two OS's.

Windows XP bootloader (with the boot.ini file amended) will boot into both partition 1 and partition 2 but there are some software problems. I think this is due to the fact that everything in Windows Registry refers to the C drive even though the cloned copy is, of course on the D drive.

I am no expert but I think I need a bootloader that not only hides the Partition 1 from Partition 2 but also fools Windows XP on Partition 2 and makes it think it is on the C drive. Is that correct and, if so, will Plop do what I want it to. Any help would be greatly appreciated together with advice on any particular options I need to use for my particular setup. Many thanks

Elmar

it depends how you cloned xp, but its possible with plop that everything works well

freddie

Hi Elmar

Thanks for your response though I am not sure I understand what you mean. I installed XP on a clean hard drive with a single partition of 25GB leaving the rest unallocated. That single partition is drive C. I then updated XP, activated it and installed my other software such as antivirus etc. I then used Clonezilla to create an image file of that C partition which I saved to a separate USB hard drive.