Author Topic: SCSI support for AHA-1520B?  (Read 9699 times)

nebbit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
SCSI support for AHA-1520B?
« on: April 18, 2011, 22:40:26 PM »
Need to replicate an old SCSI drive.
Don't need to spend lots of $$$.
I have an AMD K6-2 500mhz MB w/AHA-1520B controller.
Just need to use the 'dd' cmd to copy drive to drive, or drive to IMAGE to drive.
Any suggestions appreciated.

Thanks

ps

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2491
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: SCSI support for AHA-1520B?
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2011, 08:42:26 AM »
run "pciprobe" or "modprobe aha152x_cs" to load the module.

regards
elmar

vesalocal

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: SCSI support for AHA-1520B?
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2011, 11:35:38 AM »
Adaptec AHA-1520B is an ISA adapter ;-)
The module is called aha152x.
Maybe you have to compile it by yourself.



Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2491
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: SCSI support for AHA-1520B?
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2011, 12:22:53 PM »
Adaptec AHA-1520B is an ISA adapter ;-)
The module is called aha152x.
Maybe you have to compile it by yourself.

you are right, i thought its the pccard

the isa driver module is not compiled in ploplinux.

i agree with vesalocal, either you compile it by yourself, or you use an old distro thats has the driver.

nebbit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: SCSI support for AHA-1520B?
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2011, 17:21:28 PM »
Thanks,I guess the question is where can I find the built file? And is it just a file I can load on the system and run modprobe?
Or, if I need to compile the drive, can I do this on another(Linux box) computer? I'm not against compiling but, I'm lazy and need the path of least resistance on this project. Any further assistance is greatly appreciated, thanks for your help so far.

ps; I forgot to say that I can not get the 4.1.0 version to boot. I get a Kernel Panic like was mentioned on another post about i586 problems booting. Is there a clear cut path to a resolution for this problem?
Thanks Again,
nebbit

vesalocal

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: SCSI support for AHA-1520B?
« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2011, 18:04:38 PM »
Quote
I'm not against compiling but, I'm lazy and need the path of least resistance on this project.

You mean you want someone else to do it for you?-)

The "path of least resistance" would be to buy a pci SCSI-II adaptor card which is
supported by plop linux.  You can get them used for very little money.

Or, like Elmar suggested, try another Linux distribution.

Good luck!


nebbit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: SCSI support for AHA-1520B?
« Reply #6 on: April 19, 2011, 20:35:32 PM »
Well if you get right done to it .....yes, if someone else would do it for me I'm not opposed  ;)
But you're right I probably should look at a more suitable card. Is there a list somewhere of the compatible scsi cards for Plop Linux?
I'm looking at a Adaptec AHA-2940 off ebay. Any thoughts on this card?

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2491
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: SCSI support for AHA-1520B?
« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2011, 21:01:17 PM »
the aha-2940 driver is included in ploplinux, but i don't know if it works. the bigger problem is that you say that ploplinux does not boot. how much ram has the pc?

nebbit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: SCSI support for AHA-1520B?
« Reply #8 on: April 19, 2011, 21:16:26 PM »
It did not boot on a AMD K6-2 with 256mb.
I did see a post about this and it seemed that the fix had something to do with compiling of 486 switch into the kernel build. I think... :-\
But, if I get the AHA-2940 I'll be using a new mb (Dell 4600 P4)
That should work just fine right?

Nebbit

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2491
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: SCSI support for AHA-1520B?
« Reply #9 on: April 19, 2011, 21:27:08 PM »
the whole ploplinux is compiled for i486. whats on the screen above the kernel panic?

nebbit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: SCSI support for AHA-1520B?
« Reply #10 on: April 19, 2011, 21:49:12 PM »
Freeing unused Kernel memory: 460K Freed
Write Protecting the Kernel text: 6824K
Write Protecting the Kernel read-only data: 3516K
Kernel Panic - no syncing: Attempted to kill init
Pid:1 comm: init Not tainted 2.6.36 #1
Call Trace
#
#
#
ohci_hcd 0000:00:01.2 auto-stop root hub

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2491
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: SCSI support for AHA-1520B?
« Reply #11 on: April 19, 2011, 22:06:15 PM »
the init program can't be loaded, i don't know why