Author Topic: Plop Linux things  (Read 8617 times)

Scotty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Plop Linux things
« on: July 01, 2011, 12:34:58 PM »
I'm new to linux, i have loved the look of it for years. I have been looking for a version of linux that can be used for installing windows on to machines, but also that could run from PXE as a client. and i think i have found it. :)

Could anyone tell me if;
1- there is sound support, for music, video's, etc...
2- can a flash player be included
3- how can i set the default web page. (i have a home web server)
4- is there planned support for thin clients

thanks Michael

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2481
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: Plop Linux things
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2011, 13:58:33 PM »
1- there is sound support, for music, video's, etc...  - yes
2- can a flash player be included - yes see here
3- how can i set the default web page. (i have a home web server) - you set it in the browser, save the config file and restore it with rc.local
4- is there planned support for thin clients - should already work

best regards
elmar

Scotty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Plop Linux things
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2011, 05:25:58 AM »
Thanks for the quick reply.

I started a pc via pxe and once its up i can play a video but no sound?

I have a HP Compaq T5300 thin client, it starts up and gets to;
mounting opt
opt.sqfs 20110418

and just stops!

i have tryed some pc's and laptop's and they start up fine

thanks michael

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2481
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: Plop Linux things
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2011, 09:29:55 AM »
I started a pc via pxe and once its up i can play a video but no sound?

add the command "pciprobe" to the rc.local file

I have a HP Compaq T5300 thin client, it starts up and gets to;
mounting opt
opt.sqfs 20110418

and just stops!

rename opt.sqfs to test.sqfs and try to mount it when plop linux is running. does it hang too?

regards
elmar

Scotty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Plop Linux things
« Reply #4 on: July 04, 2011, 10:20:16 AM »
Hi Elmar,

Well i added pciprobe to the rc.local, and now i have a volume control.
But still no sound?

BTW- What is the name of the file i need to copy (and its location) after
changing the home page in mozilla firefox? And also what do i need
to add to rc.local so it will copy it on startup.

Thanks for your help Michael

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2481
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: Plop Linux things
« Reply #5 on: July 04, 2011, 10:39:10 AM »
Well i added pciprobe to the rc.local, and now i have a volume control.
But still no sound?

maybe the card muted. use "alsamixer" and unmute with the key "m"

BTW- What is the name of the file i need to copy (and its location) after
changing the home page in mozilla firefox? And also what do i need
to add to rc.local so it will copy it on startup.

compress the .mozilla directory and store it somewhere. during booting, uncompress the file to restore the settings.

regards
elmar