HOW to change BIOS?

Started by shoutcrown, July 06, 2011, 02:40:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

shoutcrown

Hello!
I am a new user, and I am from PERU.
I have a laptop Dell Latitude C600 (P3), although this laptop is very older I just do basic operations (I am a beginner) and I am learning...
I was looking for a program to boot from USB this laptop, although the BIOS doesnt have the option BOOT FROM USB
When I found this program Plop Boot Manager I was very happy. IT REALLY WORKS!
I can install Plop Boot Manager in Puppy Linux.
I have installed GRUB and Plop Boot Manager appears at the bottom.
As I told I am from PERU and I dont understand all the information in this web page. So I have a question: Could you tell me if the Bios can be modifyed with Plop Boot Manager (that is Add the option Boot from USB in the same BIOS)?

By the way, Do you know the best program to make bootable my USB flash drive? Because I want to boot from USB to format the PC and install Windows, I found some programs, but finally they cant to make bootable my USB flash drive for example when I use an ISO file or a reduced Windows (many people says old machines need a reduced Windows to run faster)

THANK YOU!
BEST REGARDS!

Dan

BIOS modification is for experts only. It's also risky if you don't have a backup BIOS.

Elmar

hi,

Quote from: shoutcrown on July 06, 2011, 02:40:34 AM
As I told I am from PERU and I dont understand all the information in this web page. So I have a question: Could you tell me if the Bios can be modifyed with Plop Boot Manager (that is Add the option Boot from USB in the same BIOS)?

for dell, you would need a special program to modify the bios rom. i don't know if there is one in the web.

flashing the bios can be dangerous. when something goes wrong, then you have to flash the bios chip with external hardware.

best regard
elmar

shoutcrown

HI guys!
Dan and Elmar, You are right!: "Experts only modify the BIOS, and there are many Risks..."