Author Topic: Newbie issue with Plop on live USB key  (Read 8750 times)

Belive

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Newbie issue with Plop on live USB key
« on: August 12, 2011, 06:54:06 AM »
Hye,

Thanks for the slim & impressive fast plop 4.1.2.

I created a live USB key, thanks to Lili USB Creator under WinXP.
I can boot Plop. So far so good.

My Issues, and where I miss to succeed, are:
1/ Want to add local settings
http://www.plop.at/en/ploplinux.html#locale
2/ Want to access my HDD partitions.
3/ Want to have:
3.1. Flash player (esp. for Youtube)
http://forum.plop.at/index.php/topic,1205.msg4315.html#msg4315
3.2. PDF reader (apparently there is none)
3.3. At the very least .doc and .xls reader, if not Koffice or LibreOffice

Now,
On my USB key, there is only:
1/ a root folder VirtualBox and then the subfolders, but no "ploplinux/opt/" folder.
2/ "locale-archive.gz" which I copied.

So when I reboot plop, viz no virtualization, it launches and prompts for me type in "startx" and then launches perfectly.

The issue is that with the file manager I can't find my "locale-archive.gz" file which I copied onto my USB key, nor any HDD partition.
Should I mount them somehow, even the USB partition???

Now, I'm puzzled with this distro, as normaly I see my USB & HDD in either /mnt or /media and here it's blank.

Thanks.

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2440
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: Newbie issue with Plop on live USB key
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2011, 08:25:35 AM »
hi,

3.2. PDF reader (apparently there is none)

the pdf reader is evince


Now,
On my USB key, there is only:
1/ a root folder VirtualBox and then the subfolders, but no "ploplinux/opt/" folder.
2/ "locale-archive.gz" which I copied.

i dont understand what you mean


Should I mount them somehow, even the USB partition???

the boot device is always mounted to /media

other partitions have to be mounted manually or with the command "automount". when you always want to automount at startup the uncomment it in ploplinux/bin/rc.local

Now, I'm puzzled with this distro, ...

plop linux is not easy for beginners, but with some knowledge, you can add and do anything with it.

Belive

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Newbie issue with Plop on live USB key
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2011, 10:52:22 AM »
Quote
other partitions have to be mounted manually or with the command "automount". when you always want to automount at startup the uncomment it in ploplinux/bin/rc.local
Indeed with automount it works. But I m surprised that otherwise I do not see them eventhough there are not mounted.

Quote
Change keyboard layout/map
[root@ploplinux ~]# loadkeys be-latin1
Loading /usr/share/kbd/keymaps/i386/azerty/be-latin1.map.gz
[root@ploplinux ~]# 
[root@ploplinux ~]# loadkeys fr-latin1
Loading /usr/share/kbd/keymaps/i386/azerty/fr-latin1.map.gz
[root@ploplinux ~]#

I tried to change my keyboard to either French or Belgianm but without success.



Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2440
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: Newbie issue with Plop on live USB key
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2011, 10:54:59 AM »
do you try to set the keyboard for the console or for X?

for X see http://forum.plop.at/index.php/topic,163.0.html
the filename runme.sh in the post is old. its now ploplinux/bin/rc.local
« Last Edit: August 12, 2011, 11:08:36 AM by Elmar »

Belive

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Newbie issue with Plop on live USB key
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2011, 18:46:02 PM »
Quote
do you try to set the keyboard for the console or for X?
Was for X. Then update the FAQ Q12, with setxkbmap

RE: http://www.plop.at/en/ploplinux.html#faq14
Quote
I do not see files with 'umlauten' on a device mounted with ntfs-3g

You have to add locale settings

mount -t ntfs-3g -o locale=de_DE.UTF-8 <device> <mountpoint>
How do I it with my hda5 partition which has files&folders in several European languages(EN, FR, ES, DE), I think it is ISO-8851-1 ?
<mountpoint> Can you clarify, please.

Firefox Flash player (esp. for Youtube)
http://forum.plop.at/index.php/topic,1205.msg4315.html#msg4315
Quote
i tried libflashplayer.so and it worked without problem
you have to copy libflashplayer.so to /root/.mozilla/plugins
[root@ploplinux ~]# cd ..
[root@ploplinux /]# ls
bin   dev  home  media  opt   root  sbin  tmp  var
boot  etc  lib   mnt    proc  run   sys   usr
[root@ploplinux /]# cd root
[root@ploplinux ~]# ls
Desktop  fluxbox  gnome  welcome.txt
[root@ploplinux ~]#

I do not see a .Mozilla folder

Thanks
« Last Edit: August 14, 2011, 18:49:41 PM by Belive »

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2440
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: Newbie issue with Plop on live USB key
« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2011, 21:07:32 PM »
Quote
do you try to set the keyboard for the console or for X?
Was for X. Then update the FAQ Q12, with setxkbmap


hey, X is only an optional package, not the default! so don't say i have to do something  >:( and its faq13


Quote
Firefox Flash player (esp. for Youtube)
http://forum.plop.at/index.php/topic,1205.msg4315.html#msg4315
Quote
i tried libflashplayer.so and it worked without problem
you have to copy libflashplayer.so to /root/.mozilla/plugins
[root@ploplinux ~]# cd ..
[root@ploplinux /]# ls
bin   dev  home  media  opt   root  sbin  tmp  var
boot  etc  lib   mnt    proc  run   sys   usr
[root@ploplinux /]# cd root
[root@ploplinux ~]# ls
Desktop  fluxbox  gnome  welcome.txt
[root@ploplinux ~]#

I do not see a .Mozilla folder

Thanks


files/directories that begin with "." are hidden. you have to learn some basics. when you want to see all files, then use "ls -lisa". when you are not good with the command line, then start "mc"

Belive

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Newbie issue with Plop on live USB key
« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2011, 22:15:10 PM »
Quote
hey, X is only an optional package, not the default! so don't say i have to do something  >:( and its faq13
Sorry, I report that because it's a FAQ and so to avoid other users repeating the same question.
I just meant that loadkeys didn't work even within the console, while with setxkbmap it does.

Quote
when you want to see all files, then use "ls -lisa". when you are not good with the command line, then start "mc"
Thanks for the trick

Quote
[root@ploplinux .mozilla]# cd plugins
[root@ploplinux plugins]# ls
libflashplayer.so
[root@ploplinux plugins]#
Unfortunately, as reported in http://forum.plop.at/index.php/topic,1205.msg4315.html#msg4315
Youtube does not function for me as well.

« Last Edit: August 15, 2011, 22:22:48 PM by Belive »

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2440
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: Newbie issue with Plop on live USB key
« Reply #7 on: August 16, 2011, 09:21:41 AM »
Quote
hey, X is only an optional package, not the default! so don't say i have to do something  >:( and its faq13
Sorry, I report that because it's a FAQ and so to avoid other users repeating the same question.
I just meant that loadkeys didn't work even within the console, while with setxkbmap it does.

it seems, you dont know the difference between console and terminal emulation. in simple words, you are in the console when you are not in X (Xorg, Gnome, Fluxbox, ...). when you are in X, then you are using the terminal emulation (or simply the terminal) to enter commands.

when you are in the console, then you have to use loadkeys to change the keymap. loadkeys does not affect X.

when you started X, then you have to use setxkbmap. setxkbmap does not affect the console.
when you use setxkbmap, then the keymap for the whole X system is set. the terminal is a X program, so you have the keymap of X in the terminal too. but when you are back in the console (close X, or ctrl-alt-f1,..., ctrl-alt-f6) then the console keymap is used, regardless what you set with setxkbmap.

2 different keymap systems, you understand?


Quote
[root@ploplinux .mozilla]# cd plugins
[root@ploplinux plugins]# ls
libflashplayer.so
[root@ploplinux plugins]#
Unfortunately, as reported in http://forum.plop.at/index.php/topic,1205.msg4315.html#msg4315
Youtube does not function for me as well.

i tried it now with the latest libflashplayer.so and you are right. maybe i wasn't using the latest libflashplayer in the other test. i will update opt.sqfs that the flash player works.


EDIT:
opt.sqfs has been updated for the latest flash version.

i added a new feature, simply copy libflashplayer.so to ploplinux/opt/ and it will be detected and firefox will be able to use it.

http://www.plop.at/en/ploplinux.html#xorg
« Last Edit: August 16, 2011, 12:07:12 PM by Elmar »

Belive

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Newbie issue with Plop on live USB key
« Reply #8 on: August 17, 2011, 16:43:17 PM »
Thanks Youtube works now.
But have no sound, I'll make a separate post for that Applications>Sound & Video>Volume Control reports no device or GStreamer driver

How can I install
1/ LibO_3.4.2_Linux_x86_install-rpm_en-US.tar.gz ?
2/ Skype ?

Thanks

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2440
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: Newbie issue with Plop on live USB key
« Reply #9 on: August 17, 2011, 17:02:03 PM »
Thanks Youtube works now.
But have no sound, I'll make a separate post for that Applications>Sound & Video>Volume Control reports no device or GStreamer driver

How can I install
1/ LibO_3.4.2_Linux_x86_install-rpm_en-US.tar.gz ?
2/ Skype ?

Thanks


there is already a skype and a sound thread.

libre office: 
with some knowledge its not difficult to integrate it, but i thinks its better when i publish a small script.

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2440
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: Newbie issue with Plop on live USB key
« Reply #10 on: August 19, 2011, 10:17:06 AM »
i wrote a script to add LibreOffice and OpenOffice

see http://www.plop.at/en/ploplinux.html#xorg