Author Topic: PlopKexec and last Ubuntu 15.10  (Read 12717 times)

PLOPMAN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
PlopKexec and last Ubuntu 15.10
« on: February 05, 2016, 21:19:51 PM »
Hello,

I have got a PC add-on Card PCI-express with NEC/Renesas USB 3.0.
PlopKexec detected my usb hd because my hdd was blinking led (sde)
I installed ubuntu on a usb hdd but plopkexec showed errors: "Ignoring unsupported entry" in /mnt/etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ('menuentry' ... )  ... (it's ok with boot on usb flash disk with live ubuntu).
Grub is in my partition /boot (sde1)

Thanks for your help

Photo 1= P_20160205_205121-3.jpg
Photo 2= P_20160205_205305-3.jpg
Photo 3= P_20160205_205703-2.jpg
Photo 4= P_20160205_205946-3.jpg
« Last Edit: February 06, 2016, 11:59:51 AM by PLOPMAN »

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2491
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: PlopKexec and last Ubuntu 15.10
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2016, 12:30:35 PM »
Your Grub config file is using variables. The current PlopKexec version does not support Grub variables. You have to create an alternative config file that does not use variables.

Best regards
Elmar

PLOPMAN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: PlopKexec and last Ubuntu 15.10
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2016, 12:58:10 PM »
Thanks for your answer Elmar.

I will wait a new version of PlopKexec because it's a long process to revert to grub-legacy: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1298932

At bottom of this page: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/GRUB2_Quick_Start ...

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2/Setup

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2491
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: PlopKexec and last Ubuntu 15.10
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2016, 13:01:57 PM »
Its not planned to add this feature soon.

You don't have to revert to Grub legacy. You just have to replace the variables like $DEVICE with the values that they became.

PLOPMAN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: PlopKexec and last Ubuntu 15.10
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2016, 13:04:27 PM »
Ok i'll try this method.
Thanks

PLOPMAN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: PlopKexec and last Ubuntu 15.10
« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2016, 01:38:36 AM »
I put plopkexec.cfg in / but Ubuntu is always not detected...

You said "The file plopkexec.cfg will be searched. It supports the Syslinux commands listed below. The plopkexec.cfg config file has the highest priority. All previous settings like TIMEOUT and DEFAULT can be overridden. "...but PlopKexec continues to show the same errors with menuentry.... plopKexec.cfg has really the hightest priority ?

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2491
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: PlopKexec and last Ubuntu 15.10
« Reply #6 on: February 08, 2016, 07:41:32 AM »
Yes, plopkexec.cfg has the highest priority. It's the last file that will be scanned. Highest priority does not mean, that all other config files are not scanned.

All known config files are scanned in this order

lilo
grub legacy
grub 2
syslinux
plopkexec.cfg


how does your plopkexec.cfg look like?

PLOPMAN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: PlopKexec and last Ubuntu 15.10
« Reply #7 on: February 08, 2016, 10:28:14 AM »
Ok, this is my plopkexec.cfg:

LABEL Ubuntu
   MENU LABEL Ubuntu 15.10, kernel 4.2.0-27-generic
   KERNEL /boot/vmlinuz-4.2.0-27-generic root=UUID=xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx ro quiet splash
   INITRD /boot/initrd.img-4.2.0-27-generic
quiet

I changed UUID by xxxxx in this post...

It's for ArchiLinux : https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Kernel_parameters... I don't use the command APPEND, i don't really know with this... PlopKexec use KERNEL and INITRD command (APPEND too), syslinux use LINUX command instead of KERNEL command...

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2491
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: PlopKexec and last Ubuntu 15.10
« Reply #8 on: February 08, 2016, 10:35:20 AM »
This should work

Code: [Select]
LABEL Ubuntu
    MENU LABEL Ubuntu 15.10, kernel 4.2.0-27-generic
    KERNEL /boot/vmlinuz-4.2.0-27-generic
    INITRD /boot/initrd.img-4.2.0-27-generic
    APPEND  root=UUID=xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx ro quiet splash


The keywords LINUX and KERNEL are handled in the same way.


PLOPMAN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: PlopKexec and last Ubuntu 15.10
« Reply #9 on: February 08, 2016, 11:39:04 AM »
it's always not detected...

I don't know why... usb hdd is detected...

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2491
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: PlopKexec and last Ubuntu 15.10
« Reply #10 on: February 08, 2016, 12:31:02 PM »
What exactly is not detected?

PLOPMAN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: PlopKexec and last Ubuntu 15.10
« Reply #11 on: February 08, 2016, 12:37:59 PM »
ubuntu on my usb hdd.

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2491
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: PlopKexec and last Ubuntu 15.10
« Reply #12 on: February 08, 2016, 12:41:20 PM »
But you see the new menu entry in PlopKexec?

PLOPMAN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: PlopKexec and last Ubuntu 15.10
« Reply #13 on: February 08, 2016, 12:56:32 PM »
No, there is no new entry in PlopKexec.
« Last Edit: February 08, 2016, 13:12:45 PM by PLOPMAN »

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2491
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: PlopKexec and last Ubuntu 15.10
« Reply #14 on: February 08, 2016, 12:58:54 PM »
You see, you have to be more specific. I am not in front of your computer.

Where did you store the plopkexec.cfg file?

PLOPMAN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: PlopKexec and last Ubuntu 15.10
« Reply #15 on: February 08, 2016, 13:03:05 PM »
Sorry.

I use two method: I added an entry in windows boot loader (windows 7) with easybcd (PlopKexec 1.1) and now i boot plopKexec 1.2 from usb flash disk... this was the same result

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2491
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: PlopKexec and last Ubuntu 15.10
« Reply #16 on: February 08, 2016, 13:05:56 PM »
and where did you store the plopkexec.cfg file?

PLOPMAN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: PlopKexec and last Ubuntu 15.10
« Reply #17 on: February 08, 2016, 13:08:07 PM »
the PlopKexec.cfg file is store in sda1 partition (at /)

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2491
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: PlopKexec and last Ubuntu 15.10
« Reply #18 on: February 08, 2016, 13:12:35 PM »
What OS is on sda1?
What file system is there?

PLOPMAN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: PlopKexec and last Ubuntu 15.10
« Reply #19 on: February 08, 2016, 13:13:46 PM »
Ubuntu is on sda1 and the file system is ext4

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2491
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: PlopKexec and last Ubuntu 15.10
« Reply #20 on: February 08, 2016, 13:17:42 PM »
On the Log screen there is never an entry about  plopkexec.cfg? (the photos are not optimal)
The file name is really plopkexec.cfg?

PLOPMAN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: PlopKexec and last Ubuntu 15.10
« Reply #21 on: February 08, 2016, 13:24:06 PM »
no, there is never entry about plopKexec.cfg for sda (usb hdd)
yes , the file name is really plopkexec.cfg

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2491
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: PlopKexec and last Ubuntu 15.10
« Reply #22 on: February 08, 2016, 13:29:16 PM »
Copy the plopkexec.cfg into /boot on the usb hdd. It seems I disabled for debugging the plopkexec.cfg scan in the root directory and I forgot to enable it.

PLOPMAN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: PlopKexec and last Ubuntu 15.10
« Reply #23 on: February 08, 2016, 15:23:40 PM »
I copied plopKexec.cfg to /boot and....

....

The menu show the new entry Ubuntu 15.10 ! Ubuntu start, now it's perfect for me !! :) :) :) :D :D :D

Thanks a lot Elmar for your help

PLOPMAN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: PlopKexec and last Ubuntu 15.10
« Reply #24 on: February 09, 2016, 15:27:21 PM »
Hello Elmar,

What is the changelog for the new version 1.3 of PlopKexec ?

Is it possible to integrate PlopKexec in Bios with this method https://www.plop.at/en/bootmanager/rom.html ?
« Last Edit: February 09, 2016, 15:30:05 PM by PLOPMAN »

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2491
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: PlopKexec and last Ubuntu 15.10
« Reply #25 on: February 09, 2016, 15:30:33 PM »
It's only the fix that plopkexec.cfg was not searched in the root directories.

PLOPMAN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: PlopKexec and last Ubuntu 15.10
« Reply #26 on: February 09, 2016, 15:31:51 PM »
ok , and in order to integrate in bios, is it possible ?

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2491
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: PlopKexec and last Ubuntu 15.10
« Reply #27 on: February 09, 2016, 15:38:59 PM »
PlopKexec cannot be integrated into bios.

PLOPMAN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: PlopKexec and last Ubuntu 15.10
« Reply #28 on: February 09, 2016, 15:40:03 PM »
ok thanks

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2491
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: PlopKexec and last Ubuntu 15.10
« Reply #29 on: February 09, 2016, 21:39:04 PM »
Just to clarify. PlopKexec is too big for the BIOS, because its Linux Kernel based. Maybe my new boot manager will be still so flexible as my good old Plop Boot Manager 5.x and fit into the bios plus resolving old limitations.