Author Topic: Missing Linux HELP  (Read 10906 times)

fritual

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
Missing Linux HELP
« on: May 29, 2016, 00:28:50 AM »
Hi,

This micro's BIOS cannot boot a USB key:
http://support.toshiba.com/support/modelHome?freeText=882864

PlopKexec 1.1 CD, 2015/12/01 can boot Linux ISO USB key's, BUT not this one:
http://porteus-kiosk.org

Error Trap Dialog:

Code: [Select]
Waiting for a drive  with Linux . . .

No Linux has been found.


Q: Is there a way for PlopKexec CD to find Linux on this USB key ??

thx
fritual

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2491
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: Missing Linux HELP
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2016, 12:09:26 PM »
Hello,

I assume, you created the USB key according to the Porteus documentation with "dd". This is currently not supported by PlopKexec. It will be supported in PlopKexec 1.4. which comes in about 2 weeks.

Meanwhile, you can clean the USB key. Unplug and plugin again. Create a partition with a FAT file system. Copy the contents of the ISO (not the ISO file, but the contents like boot/ and so on) to the USB key. Then it will be bootable by PlopKexec.

Regards
Elmar

fritual

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
Re: Missing Linux HELP
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2016, 00:38:48 AM »
Hello,

I assume, you created the USB key according to the Porteus documentation with "dd". This is currently not supported by PlopKexec. It will be supported in PlopKexec 1.4. which comes in about 2 weeks.

Meanwhile, you can clean the USB key. Unplug and plugin again. Create a partition with a FAT file system. Copy the contents of the ISO (not the ISO file, but the contents like boot/ and so on) to the USB key. Then it will be bootable by PlopKexec.

Regards
Elmar

Dear Elmar:

APP used:
http://www.pendrivelinux.com/multiboot-create-a-multiboot-usb-from-linux/

Suspect if I copy the boot/ etc., contents from existing USB key, the other functional micro's BIOS will start to hiccup.
Therefore, probably best to wait for 1.4 . . .

Thanks for post reply!
fritual

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2491
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: Missing Linux HELP
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2016, 11:04:04 AM »
Hello,

I made the updates now. PlopKexec 1.4-test1 is online. All should work well with this version.
https://www.plop.at/en/plopkexec.html#download


Changelog: 2016-05-30 Version 1.4-test1 released by Elmar Hanlhofer

    * Added iso9660 to hard disk file system mount to support hybrid ISOs.

    * Hotkey 's' for shutdown changed to 'p' power off.

    * Added BusyBox.

    * Hotkey 's' for BusyBox shell.

    * Linux kernel update to 4.6.

    * Kexec update to 2.0.12.

    * Minor Kexec build script update.

    * plopkexec.iso is now a hybrid ISO.

    * TODO: Automatic use of supported file systems compiled into the kernel, like Eugene https://github.com/eugenesan/chrubuntu-script/tree/master/plopkexec



Best regards
Elmar

fritual

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
Re: Missing Linux HELP
« Reply #4 on: May 30, 2016, 15:35:03 PM »

Changelog: 2016-05-30 Version 1.4-test1 released by Elmar Hanlhofer

Dear Elmar:
1.4 restored function
Wishing you a happy day!
thx
fritual
*SOLVED*

fritual

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
Re: Missing Linux HELP
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2016, 08:14:19 AM »
Hello,

I made the updates now. PlopKexec 1.4-test1 is online. All should work well with this version.


Hi,
When I selected the 3 month trial upgrade, a new kernel/core was installed and burnt to key:

http://porteus-kiosk.org/wizard.html

Now, PlopKexec 1.4 has a fit with the upgrade, reporting:

Code: [Select]
Loading kernel . . .
ifdown: socket: Function not implemented
kexec_core: Starting new kernel

System is toast at this point!

Q: Can a patch be implemented to allow the trial feature to function OK?
thx
fritual

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2491
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: Missing Linux HELP
« Reply #6 on: June 05, 2016, 13:12:13 PM »
You have to give me the image or ISO that you created.

Regards
Elmar

fritual

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
Re: Missing Linux HELP
« Reply #7 on: June 05, 2016, 15:48:03 PM »
You have to give me the image or ISO that you created.

Regards
Elmar
Dear Elmar:
All upgrades, burning to key was done transparently by a script.
Q: How would you suggest creating an IMG/ISO of the burnt key and delivering the 190MB file??
. . I'm stumpt
thx
fritual

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2491
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: Missing Linux HELP
« Reply #8 on: June 05, 2016, 16:07:19 PM »
Q: How would you suggest creating an IMG/ISO of the burnt key and delivering the 190MB file??
. . I'm stumpt

Creating: image or ISO with "dd"
Deliver: Provide a download link, sent as private message. You can also use a service like dropbox.

Regards
elmar

fritual

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
Re: Missing Linux HELP
« Reply #9 on: June 05, 2016, 20:40:02 PM »

Creating: image or ISO with "dd"

Regards
elmar

Dear elmar:

diskutil list:

Code: [Select]
/dev/disk1
   #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
   0:     FDisk_partition_scheme                        *257.5 MB   disk1
   1:                      Linux                         2.1 MB     disk1s1
   2:                      Linux                         254.3 MB   disk1s2
/dev/disk2
   #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
   0:     FDisk_partition_scheme                        *8.0 GB     disk2
   1:             Windows_FAT_32 UUI                     8.0 GB     disk2s1
Disk1 is the 'if' key.
Q: What's the correct indexing to move the key image to an iso file on disk2 'of' key?
. . . once that's done, a download link's next
thx
fritual

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2491
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: Missing Linux HELP
« Reply #10 on: June 06, 2016, 13:34:26 PM »
I tried your ISO with PlopKexec 1.4-test1 and it works here. It booting your kiosk ends in an "unauthorized access" error, but thats because of the different machine.

Does your computer have enough RAM? This Porteus version is copying itself into the RAM.

Regards
Elmar

fritual

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
Re: Missing Linux HELP
« Reply #11 on: June 06, 2016, 19:35:31 PM »
I tried your ISO with PlopKexec 1.4-test1 and it works here. It booting your kiosk ends in an "unauthorized access" error, but thats because of the different machine.

Does your computer have enough RAM? This Porteus version is copying itself into the RAM.

Regards
Elmar

Re: Intel M processor, 1.73 GHz
       1.50 GB RAM
Elmar,

Please explain your dialog, "It booting your kiosk ends in an "unauthorized access" error,"??
This tells me the kiosk can only function on a single machine!

PlopKexec 1.4-test1 booted the original 3.7 kiosk key.  When I selected the 3 month trial kiosk, the kernel/core was upgraded to 20160528 OS and 1.4 boot manager stopped functioning.

Q: How can the 1.5 GB RAM effect the kiosk kernel/core upgrade?

I’d like to write the ISO you got to work, using the same app/syntax.
fritual

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2491
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: Missing Linux HELP
« Reply #12 on: June 06, 2016, 20:00:32 PM »
Please explain your dialog, "It booting your kiosk ends in an "unauthorized access" error,"??
This tells me the kiosk can only function on a single machine!

See the attached screenshots. You have to ask the Kiosk guys about that. I thought its because of the different machine. Maybe its something else.

Q: How can the 1.5 GB RAM effect the kiosk kernel/core upgrade?

It was just a guess, because I got an out of memory error when I started it in a virtual machine with less RAM. 1.5GB RAM is enough.


Elmar
« Last Edit: June 06, 2016, 20:30:00 PM by Elmar »

fritual

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
Re: Missing Linux HELP
« Reply #13 on: June 06, 2016, 22:54:12 PM »
See the attached screenshots. You have to ask the Kiosk guys about that. I thought its because of the different machine. Maybe its something else.

Elmar,
Your attachments indeed show more optimism!
Q: Did you have VM hard wired to the ethernet?
. . . that should get kiosk online checking for any updates
thanks for prompt reply!
fritual