Author Topic: Can't change to graphics-mode  (Read 1589 times)

Tanzmusikus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Can't change to graphics-mode
« on: May 24, 2017, 18:44:49 PM »
Hello Elmar,

I can't find the cause of problem ... nor a solution.

On ASRock 990FX Extreme6 mainboard I cannot change to graphics-mode.
It stays on 80x50 Textmode with gray squares.
But I like the starfield simulation !!

What I did & tried:
- prepared plpbt.bin with the gui and started it from the Boot-Menu in Windows7 (64bit),
- installed from CD, both last versions (5.0.14 & 5.0.15),
- renewed MBR,
- unmounted all other hardware-drives (HDDs, SSDs),
but I could'nt change - not with keyboard action-keys (Alt+Bild) & not within the Menu.

Could it be, that the Samsung 850 Pro (SATA3) is write-protected against viruses?
Or what could it be?

I could change all other things and there were saved fine.
That's why, it could not be something like write-protection.

What else could I do?

Regards, TM

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2405
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: Can't change to graphics-mode
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2017, 19:58:09 PM »
Hello,

maybe its a problem with the init routine of the graphic mode. The new boot manager will be more dynamic in this matter, but it will not be fixed in the 5.0.x series.

Best regards
Elmar

Tanzmusikus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Can't change to graphics-mode
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2017, 21:26:29 PM »
Hello,

thanks for your reply!

On my older PCs with DDR2 and non-Next-Generation GPUs (ATI HD 4k, 5k, 6k) there is no problem.
On my 990FX-board there is a AMD R9 290X.

Maybe it helps you for developing.

Bye, TM

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2405
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: Can't change to graphics-mode
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2017, 23:15:26 PM »
Thanks for your info. I am pretty sure that the upcoming release can handle it fine. I would be happy when you check it with trying the test version when its available. But I cannot send you an extra mail for testing. So you have to check out from time to time the website or join the newsletter or the more personal/private twitter account.

Best regards
Elmar

Tanzmusikus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Can't change to graphics-mode
« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2017, 00:15:27 AM »
Yes, I'll do.

So I wish you the best for the "New Boot Manager" !!  8)
The GUI is lookin' fine, but yes the inside is more important.

Best regards, TM