Author Topic: UK keyboard & name resolution issues  (Read 7290 times)

Thiassi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
UK keyboard & name resolution issues
« on: April 06, 2010, 18:28:52 PM »
Hi,

Couple of questions:

1. I need to change the keyboard language to UK English. Any idea what this would be?

2. Secondly, during the boot sequence I can see the machine is getting an IP fine (also confirmed via "ifconfig" after logon) and boot is stating two DNS servers have been added (as set via the DHCP server) but upon going into a terminal session no domain names will resolve - only IP's work correctly.

I should say this is within an AD domain and this problem does not exist on any Windows clients.

Could someone point me to a config option I've missed for this?

Many thanks and loving this distro for network boor.
« Last Edit: April 14, 2010, 18:19:27 PM by Thiassi »

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2448
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: UK keyboard & name resolution issues
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2010, 18:50:48 PM »
hi,

1. I need to change the keyboard language to UK English. Any idea what this would be?

you load the uk english keyboard with "loadkeys uk". test it by entering on the shell. if it works as you wish then add the line to "ploplinux/myscripts/runme.sh"

2. Secondly, during the boot sequence I can see the machine is getting an IP fine (also confirmed via "ifconfig" after logon) and boot is stating two DNS servers have been added (as set via the DHCP server) but upon going into a terminal session no domain names will resolve - only IP's resolve.

maybe the file "/etc/resolv.conf" is not updated by the dhcp client program.

edit the file "/etc/resolv.conf" and write for testing
Code: [Select]
nameserver IP1
nameserver IP2
IP1 is your first nameserver ip address and IP2 the second
you can use the midnight commander "mc" to edit the file.

if the resolve works then add at the bottom of runme.sh
Code: [Select]
echo nameserver IP1 > /etc/resolv.conf
echo nameserver IP2 >> /etc/resolv.conf

best regards
elmar
« Last Edit: April 06, 2010, 19:15:06 PM by Elmar »

Thiassi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: UK keyboard & name resolution issues
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2010, 12:08:47 PM »
Many thanks for your help Elmar.

As for the name resolution issue: my resolv.conf wasn't updating. Your solution worked in conjunction with me adding:

Code: [Select]
search hmp.local

...to the start of /etc/resolv.conf.

As for the second issue of changing to the UK keyboard layout:

When I type in "loadkeys uk" I'm not getting an error and it says it's loading the correct file but the keyboard layout is still in US style.

I added it to the "runme.sh" anyway to test and it, again, it fails to take effect.

Any suggestions?

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2448
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: UK keyboard & name resolution issues
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2010, 12:17:42 PM »
can you tell me one key difference between us and uk. then i can see where the problem is.

best regards
elmar

Thiassi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: UK keyboard & name resolution issues
« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2010, 12:25:42 PM »
can you tell me one key difference between us and uk. then i can see where the problem is.

best regards
elmar

The @ and " symbols are reversed for UK keyboards.

Probably others but I can't think of them at the moment.

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2448
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: UK keyboard & name resolution issues
« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2010, 12:28:37 PM »
so if you press shift 2 you should get a "

Thiassi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: UK keyboard & name resolution issues
« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2010, 12:31:20 PM »
so if you press shift 2 you should get a "

Yes and if I press @ I get a " instead.


Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2448
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: UK keyboard & name resolution issues
« Reply #7 on: April 07, 2010, 12:55:40 PM »
"loadkeys uk" is for the console and works.

do you start gnome or fluxbox? if yes, then open a terminal and run "setxkbmap gb"

to set it automatically at startup, create your own /root/.xinitrc file.
example .xinitrc:
Code: [Select]
setxkbmap gb
~/gnome

save it in the pluspacks directory and copy the file with the runme.sh to /root
add at the bottom of your runme.sh
Code: [Select]
cp /media/pluspacks/.xinitrc /root

best regards
elmar

Thiassi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: UK keyboard & name resolution issues
« Reply #8 on: April 07, 2010, 13:10:23 PM »
Thanks again Elmar. That worked great.

One final question (rather than starting a new thread):

I need to change the desktop wallpaper and also add/remove icons from the desktop and Applications menus.

Which file will I need to uncompress and edit to achieve this?

« Last Edit: April 07, 2010, 13:15:21 PM by Thiassi »

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2448
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: UK keyboard & name resolution issues
« Reply #9 on: April 07, 2010, 13:27:17 PM »
i opened a thread for you
http://forum.plop.at/index.php/topic,188.0.html

best regards
elmar