Author Topic: customized iso copy2ram as default  (Read 1333 times)

jojo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
customized iso copy2ram as default
« on: December 11, 2020, 15:23:16 PM »
hi
just found great with ploplinux for my classroom disk clone operation, thanks for built-in ssh features
As part of unattended async network disk clone operation, i plug usb ploplinux to boot up 40 pc, boot with copy2ram options
without additional steps, then just simply unplug usb from and let the host with source disk to load up the image
so things are great, and wish to be greater now
How do i change boot2ram default?  so there is no additional keystrokes needed
thanks plop

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2475
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: customized iso copy2ram as default
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2020, 08:23:24 AM »
Hello!

How do i change boot2ram default?  so there is no additional keystrokes needed

Open the file "syslinux/syslinux.cfg"
Find the section of the first menu entry "linuxfb". It begins at line 17 with "label linuxfb".
Add "copy2ram" at the end of the line with "append". Its the line 20.
It should look like " append initrd=kernel/initramfs.gz vga=0x317 copy2ram".
Save the file.

 :)

Just an additional info, if you don't want to force the framebuffer mode then remove the "vga=0x317".

Best regards
Elmar

jojo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: customized iso copy2ram as default
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2020, 06:43:51 AM »
thanks, Elmar
I have managed to create iso with copy2ram as default.
thanks I will take away the framebuffer options to test further.
jojo

The_Raven

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
Re: customized iso copy2ram as default
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2020, 16:29:51 PM »
Do you ever thought about a PXE boot environment?
Just an idea  ;)

jojo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: customized iso copy2ram as default
« Reply #4 on: December 16, 2020, 18:08:29 PM »
YES!
USB boot is a step to proof of concept, PXE add convenient a lot.
The distro to load up image is a ubuntu server, it is provisioned to a DHCP server if it isn't able to get IP.

I would like to know if I can have additional package installed to ploplinux.
nmap hwinfo dcfldd beep python3-pip sshpass pigz isc-dhcp-server
With these packages, so can run the clone script and PXE on ploplinux environment.

Many thanks
Jojo

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2475
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: customized iso copy2ram as default
« Reply #5 on: December 16, 2020, 18:31:33 PM »
I would like to know if I can have additional package installed to ploplinux.
nmap hwinfo dcfldd beep python3-pip sshpass pigz isc-dhcp-server

Yes, you can add more programs. There are various ways.

Either you compile the programs by yourself or you use the binaries from other distros.
You can add the binaries to the ploplinux/bin directory.
Or you can add the binaries when you extract for example the usr.sqfs (unsquashfs usr.sqfs), add the files (to squashfs-root/bin/) and compress the usr.sqfs (mksquashfs squashfs-root usr.sqfs)
Or you use the build tools for the Live Release.


nmap, python3-pip (pip3) and isc-dhcp-server is already part of Plop Linux.

« Last Edit: December 16, 2020, 18:37:05 PM by Elmar »