Author Topic: a33i RAM  (Read 8053 times)

raygeeknyc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
a33i RAM
« on: May 17, 2010, 19:33:17 PM »
Hi
   Can anyone tell me if it is possible to expand the RAM in the a33i beyond 512MB and if so, what kind of RAM is used?  I have a perfectly working one now, running Ubuntu, the touchscreen driver, xvkbd, etc, and I see that some more RAM would really help this baby keep up!  :)

Thanks
---Raymond

raygeeknyc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: a33i RAM
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2010, 05:46:08 AM »
ping
  Anyone? (I opened it up and see the RAM type but can anyone tell me if the machine can take more than 512MB of memory)

Thanks

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: a33i RAM
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2010, 09:02:36 AM »
it seems nobody here has any idea about the ram. i think the only chance to know it is to insert a 1gig ram.

regards
elmar

raygeeknyc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: a33i RAM
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2010, 17:16:59 PM »
Thanks - I just ordered a 1GB DDR333 200pin module - ($39 + free shipping) - I'll post the result here in a week or so when it's arrived and installed.

raygeeknyc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: a33i RAM
« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2010, 22:19:18 PM »
No good.  It just hangs at the initial BIOS splash before the POST.  I guess it's missing hardware support for all of the address lines on the memory module (beyond 512MB)  :(

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: a33i RAM
« Reply #5 on: July 19, 2010, 07:52:56 AM »
 :(

StalkerNOVA

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: a33i RAM
« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2010, 08:49:23 AM »
I can also confirm. Tried 1024Mb 400Mhz... fail at A33i