installed on USBHDD by boot.ini then re-partitoned, how to detect/select them?

Started by zapp, February 05, 2010, 09:32:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

zapp

hi Elmar,

I have a USBoot XP on USBHDD that has one primary active FAT32 partition and one extended logical FAT32 partiton.

I have installed Plop with the boot.ini install method.

It boots into Plop and then into the USBoot XP fine, everything works.

now I have repartitioned it and added two new primary FAT32 partitions and installed new XP in each.

on reboot I still have only one boot option with Plop. how do I add the two new primary partitons into the Plop boot menu?

first I tried "clear partition data" then "reset partiton data" but I still only have the original partiton available as an option to boot.

I just need to add the new partitions into plop so I can boot them. I have been reading http://www.plop.at/en/bootmanager.html#bootmanager

but I am a novice and it is hard for me to understand. do I need to know the hexidecimal value of each partion for this?

I thought about reinstalling plop and mabey it would automatically detect the new partitons but since I used boot.ini I am not sure it is safe or possible to uninstall.

thanks

Elmar

is the boot manager now really on the usb hd or on the internal? did you change the destination drive during install?

zapp

yes, it really is on the USB HDD. I did not have to change the destination drive but I did not have an internall IDE HDD in the machine when I installed Plop on the USBoot XP USB HDD.

should it be detecting the new partitions or is this step allways manual?

zapp

I have use "short uninstall" then reinstalled but still only one "HARDDISK 1" option available in first plop boot window.

I just need to learn how to add these new primary partitions to this first boot window so I have the option to boot the original or either of the two new ones.

please advise.

Elmar

there are 2 ways
1) you add a new profile with the second os