Author Topic: Can't get plpbt.bin to boot via syslinux.cfg  (Read 14124 times)

qiet72

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Can't get plpbt.bin to boot via syslinux.cfg
« on: September 10, 2009, 12:28:46 PM »
Hi,

I am trying to play around with plpbt.bin so that it can run from syslinux.  But everytime I put it in syslinux.cfg and try to boot it, it just restarts the machine.  I have tried with both version 3.63 and 3.81 of syslinux but no change - the machine reboots as soon as it tries to load and execute plpbt.bin.

I have tried:

Code: [Select]
default plpbt.bin

and

Code: [Select]
label plp
kernel plpbt.bin

I have also tried to configure plpbt.bin using plpcfgbt program - still, plpbt.bin reboots the machine as soon as it loads and executes.

qiet72

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2491
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: Can't get plpbt.bin to boot via syslinux.cfg
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2009, 13:59:54 PM »
try this

Code: [Select]
default plp

label plp
kernel plpbt
append -


rename plpbt.bin to plpbt.


qiet72

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: Can't get plpbt.bin to boot via syslinux.cfg
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2009, 14:24:46 PM »
Nope, same result.

I did it with qemu and a floppy image with syslinux on it.

Code: [Select]
qemu -fda plpimage.bin -usb -usbdevice disk:/dev/sdc

The is the last message before it restarts:

Code: [Select]
SYSLINUX 3.81 2009-05-29 CBIOS Copyright (C) 1994-2009 H. Peter Anvin et al

I've attached the floppy image I am testing with gzipped.

qiet72

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2491
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: Can't get plpbt.bin to boot via syslinux.cfg
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2009, 14:41:19 PM »
i dont know how you created the image, but i think the file system is corrupted. however, i quickly made a working image for you

qiet72

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: Can't get plpbt.bin to boot via syslinux.cfg
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2009, 15:02:35 PM »
Hi,

I made the image this way:

I edited /etc/mtools.conf so that it contained this line:

Code: [Select]
drive b: file="plpimage.bin"

Then I did the following:

Code: [Select]
dd if=/dev/zero of=plpimage.bin bs=1k count=1440
mformat -f 1440 b:
syslinux plpimage.bin
mkdir t
mount -o loop plpimage.bin t
cp plpbt.bin t/
echo "default plpbt.bin -" >t/syslinux.conf
umount t

The "disktype" command confirms the format:

disktype plpimage.bin
Code: [Select]
~/projects/plop/test$ disktype plpimage.bin

--- plpimage.bin
Regular file, size 1.406 MiB (1474560 bytes)
FAT12 file system (hints score 5 of 5)
  Volume size 1.390 MiB (1457664 bytes, 2847 clusters of 512 bytes)


...and qemu confirmed that it could boot.

Anyways, I found out that plpbt.bin was corrupt (from plpbt-testqiet72-3.zip) and the plpbt you attached was ok and also worked
with the image I created.

The plpbt file you put in, is that the latest test version?

qiet72

qiet72

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: Can't get plpbt.bin to boot via syslinux.cfg
« Reply #5 on: September 10, 2009, 15:06:06 PM »
Hi again,

I did an md5sum check on plpbt and found out it is the version from 5.0.3 of plpbt.  Can you test plpbt.bin from your latest test versions to see if they work right with syslinux?

qiet72

qiet72

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: Can't get plpbt.bin to boot via syslinux.cfg
« Reply #6 on: September 10, 2009, 15:15:54 PM »
Hi again,

My error, syslinux interprets all files that are named ".bin" as a bootstrap program.  Renaming the file without an extension fixes the problem.

qiet72

Icecube

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Re: Can't get plpbt.bin to boot via syslinux.cfg
« Reply #7 on: September 12, 2009, 19:22:06 PM »
Use the following in your syslinux.cfg, isolinux.cfg or pxelinux.cfg/default
Code: [Select]
DEFAULT plp

LABEL plp
LINUX plpbt.bin
The use of the LINUX keyword instead of the general KERNEL keyword tells Syslinux to boot plpbt.bin as a linux kernel binary (no need to rename the file anymore). If you use KERNEL, Syslinux decides the format based on the extension (.bin is "CD boot sector" [ISOLINUX only]).

@ Elmar
Can you change the documentation for booting plpbt.bin with Syslinux?

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2491
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: Can't get plpbt.bin to boot via syslinux.cfg
« Reply #8 on: September 12, 2009, 19:54:00 PM »
hi Icecube,
great, thanks for the info. i updated the documentation.

best regards
elmar

gzk101

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Can't get plpbt.bin to boot via syslinux.cfg
« Reply #9 on: September 12, 2009, 20:05:35 PM »
can anyone to be familiar with chinese ,and Translated into Chinese with the help documentation

Icecube

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Re: Can't get plpbt.bin to boot via syslinux.cfg
« Reply #10 on: September 12, 2009, 20:35:42 PM »
@ Elmar:
Delete plopinstc from /install directory and update the following:
Change:
Quote
Code: [Select]
label plpinst
kernel plpinstc
Copy plpinstc to the same directory where the config file is.
To:
Quote
Code: [Select]
LABEL plpinst
LINUX plopinstc.com
Copy plpinstc.com to the same directory where the config file is.

@gzk101
You can try with Google translate:
http://translate.google.com/translate?prev=hp&hl=en&js=y&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.plop.at%2Fen%2Fbootmanager.html&sl=en&tl=zh-CN&history_state0=
For the code boxes, look at the original page: http://www.plop.at/en/bootmanager.html
I have no idea how good the translation is, but probably it will make it possible for you, to understand it a little better.

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2491
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: Can't get plpbt.bin to boot via syslinux.cfg
« Reply #11 on: September 12, 2009, 20:41:26 PM »
@ Elmar:
Delete plopinstc from /install directory and update the following:
Change:
Quote
Code: [Select]
label plpinst
kernel plpinstc
Copy plpinstc to the same directory where the config file is.
To:
Quote
Code: [Select]
LABEL plpinst
LINUX plopinstc.com
Copy plpinstc.com to the same directory where the config file is.

no, not now. i change this with the release of boot manager version 5.0.4

elmar