Author Topic: ploplinux 4.1.0 have no sound !  (Read 7166 times)

sqkjwx

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
ploplinux 4.1.0 have no sound !
« on: November 01, 2010, 14:26:29 PM »
after nfs boot to gnome, use gnome player play any media ,but none can make sound .   please tell me how to solve it .

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2440
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: ploplinux 4.1.0 have no sound !
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2010, 14:50:42 PM »
did you load the sound card modules? use  "pciprobe"

regards
elmar

sqkjwx

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: ploplinux 4.1.0 have no sound !
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2010, 05:39:03 AM »
did you load the sound card modules? use  "pciprobe"

regards
elmar

thank you very much ,now it works after using "pciprobe"

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2440
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: ploplinux 4.1.0 have no sound !
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2010, 05:44:22 AM »
fine

you know, you can add this command to the rc.local, then you dont have to run it manually.

best regards
elmar

Belive

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: ploplinux 4.1.2 have no sound !
« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2011, 12:57:55 PM »
Under plop 4.1.2
In terminal:
root@ploplinux ~]# pciprobe
Checking for other PCI hardware ...
Loading  ...................................   [snd-intel8x0]
[root@ploplinux ~]#

Still no sound.

So I further tried alsamixer in terminal, but as I never used it I do not know how to check if volume is muted.

Re:http://forum.plop.at/index.php/topic,10.0.html
Quote

    and all the mixer bars to bring the vol up and down.


i think below the mixers you will see "MM" that means mute. press "m" to unmute the mixer.
Well, I see at extreme left of alsamixer, a bar named <Master> and according to the fact that I key m it switches between "mm" and "00" and in both cases no sound.
Wanna lspci with another distro ?

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2440
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: ploplinux 4.1.2 have no sound !
« Reply #5 on: August 30, 2011, 13:57:44 PM »
Under plop 4.1.2
In terminal:
root@ploplinux ~]# pciprobe
Checking for other PCI hardware ...
Loading  ...................................   [snd-intel8x0]
[root@ploplinux ~]#

Still no sound.

So I further tried alsamixer in terminal, but as I never used it I do not know how to check if volume is muted.

Re:http://forum.plop.at/index.php/topic,10.0.html
Quote

    and all the mixer bars to bring the vol up and down.


i think below the mixers you will see "MM" that means mute. press "m" to unmute the mixer.
Well, I see at extreme left of alsamixer, a bar named <Master> and according to the fact that I key m it switches between "mm" and "00" and in both cases no sound.
Wanna lspci with another distro ?

with cursor up and down, you controll the volume in alsamixer. if available, then you have to set master and pcm

Belive

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: ploplinux 4.1.0 have no sound !
« Reply #6 on: August 30, 2011, 15:35:40 PM »
Solved thanks.
How can I make this permanent without relaunching each time alsamixer?
I uncommented in rc.local pciprobe ( why is it by the way, to boot faster ?)

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2440
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: ploplinux 4.1.0 have no sound !
« Reply #7 on: August 30, 2011, 15:46:12 PM »
How can I make this permanent without relaunching each time alsamixer?

i can tell it you the command, but investigate at first by yourself. years ago, i had to do it too

I uncommented in rc.local pciprobe ( why is it by the way, to boot faster ?)

how can it be faster with pciprobe when it has to load the correct modules first? i can't believe that it boots faster with pciprobe.