Author Topic: Screen Resolution  (Read 6755 times)

Roland

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Screen Resolution
« on: November 11, 2009, 19:28:11 PM »
I'm using Viewsonic 1080p LCD monitor and when I boot PLoP I can barely make out the menu due to resolution quality.  Could you change the menu somehow to make it easier to see?  It probably looks great on a monchrome monitor of 1985 vintage, but it's barely discernible now.

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2452
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: Screen Resolution
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2009, 19:57:19 PM »
hi,
i dont understand, can you make a photo?

you can simply change the resolution with the hotkeys ctrl page-up (higher resolution) or ctrl page-down (lower resolution) to see whats the best for you.

ctrl esc is switching to text mode

regards
elmar

Roland

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Screen Resolution
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2009, 23:03:51 PM »
No, the menu just isn't written to display on an LCD screen. I tried all resolutions--oddly, the lowest res. was best. Still, there are lines through the menu and the letters are barely readable.

Icecube

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Re: Screen Resolution
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2009, 22:42:04 PM »
@ Roland
Are the lines, red?
I have this on my PC.
If you switch to text mode, they are gone.
http://forum.plop.at/index.php/topic,70.0.html

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2452
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: Screen Resolution
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2009, 01:44:23 AM »
Roland,
are you able to run any linux and send me the output of lspci?
Code: [Select]
lspci -v > lspci.txt

regards
elmar

Roland

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Screen Resolution
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2009, 05:23:59 AM »
I suspect Icecube hit on the problem, but I haven't had a chance to try it--busy with HD issues and data storage now. Will try these soon.

Icecube

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Re: Screen Resolution
« Reply #6 on: November 14, 2009, 18:53:02 PM »
Elmar, I attached the result of lspci.

Elmar

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2452
  • a command shell is enough to do amazing things
Re: Screen Resolution
« Reply #7 on: November 14, 2009, 19:56:00 PM »
hi icecube,
i know your hardware, however, your post brought me to do something. here is a test version. its only for testing the graphic stuff. usb boot will not work
http://download.plop.at/files/tmp/plpbt-icecube1.bin

best regards
elmar

Icecube

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Re: Screen Resolution
« Reply #8 on: November 14, 2009, 20:20:08 PM »
Now it works fine at bootup (textmode).
Here is a picture to get an idea about the problem, when selecting one of the graphical modes:

Roland

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Screen Resolution
« Reply #9 on: November 15, 2009, 00:34:54 AM »
Icecube,

That's the same I get. Only, yours looks slightly more readable. =)